Resolved MacBook Pro Mid 2010 MAC OS won't install

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gilbert_17, Jun 29, 2017.

  1. Gilbert_17 macrumors newbie

    Gilbert_17

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    #1
    I have a MacBook Pro 13,3 Mid 2010. It is equipped with the 2,4Ghz DualCore, 4GB RAM, 512GB SSD. I installed MAC OS snow Leopard successful, but if i try to update, it will reboot and stuck in the screen where you see a grey apple. If i try to install MAC OS El Capitan or Yosemite, it stucks in the screen where you can see the grey apple and a process bar. I tried to install MAC OS on the SSD from another MAC, but if i try to boot from the SSD in my MacBook it stucks at the grey Apple. I changed the SSD to an HDD but it still stucks while booting.
     
  2. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    It's possible that the sata drive cable is defective.
     
  3. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #3
    If you were able to install and boot the SSD from another computer, then I would agree, there's a good chance the cable is defective. If you're in the US, Apple has been replacing the HDD cable for free for the non-Retina 2012 MBP's - they may do the same for earlier MBP's.

    Another possibility is that the SSD may have problems with the SATA controller. I think your computer would have the Nvidia MCP89 SATA controller (if you look in the System Report, under USB, it should tell you which SATA controller you have). Some SSD's may not work well with the MCP89. While not as problematical as the MCP79, which earlier MBP's used, there may be an issue. You can search for your brand/model of SSD and "MCP89 problem" and see if any relevant results come up.
     
  4. Gilbert_17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gilbert_17

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    #4
    I can boot from the SSD on a Early 2008 MacBook Pro. I also tried to replace the SSD with a few HDD's and it didn't worked. I have run the AHT and id says everything is fine. Is there a possibility to check the cable without replacing it?
     
  5. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Based on everything you have tried, I recommend changing the sata cable.
     
  6. Gilbert_17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gilbert_17

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    #6
    Thank you very much. I ordered a new data cable and replaced it today and now my MacBook works fine.
     
  7. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Hey, that's great! You're very welcome.
     

Share This Page