Macbook Pro Mid 2012 2nd HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Justin19, Oct 23, 2016.

  1. Justin19 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #1
    Hello,

    I recently put in a second HDD in my Macbook Pro Mid 2012. Unit works fine.

    Intermittently the unit will not boot and will not find the OS HDD original one.

    I have to sometimes hold the option key when powering on unit to select the HDD with OS installed. although sometimes will not work either.

    After a few power downs and power up it will find the OS.

    Can someone please assist if they have come across this issue or a fix.
     
  2. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #2
    Are both drives bootable ones perhaps? Maybe it tries to boot from the other one if it finds it first during efi boot.
    once it does boot, go to "startup disk" app and make sure the right one is selected
     
  3. Justin19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #3
    only one hard drive is set up as OS and is only one that is displayed within the System startup disk
    --- Post Merged, Oct 23, 2016 ---
    it seems to flicker between the Apple logo and the Circle with line through it.
     
  4. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    :S that ain't good.. i am sorry, nothing else jumps to mind, hopefully someone else has a few more tips
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  6. Justin19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    You may have a failing internal hard drive cable. Apple is currently replacing failing or failed HDD cables in 2012 13" Macbook Pros that were purchased before January 2016 for free. Take it to the nearest AASP or Apple Store to have it looked at.
     
  8. Justin19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #8
    I did however purchase this second hand and live in Australia.. I have replaced both Hard Drives and changed them to SSD myself.

    What would be the likelyhood they would still cover this?
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    It's the hard drive cable for the hard drive bay. It's likely that they'll still cover it. No matter where or who owns the machine. If Apple turns you away for non-OEM parts, take it to a AASP or replace the cable yourself. It's a cheap part and easy to replace.
     
  10. Justin19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #10
    Appreciate it strange that this has occurred as I replaced the Optical drive. Prior to this it was working fine.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    The HDD cables are very fragile. You likely bent or bumped it just enough when replacing the ODD to cause it to start to fail.
     
  12. Justin19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #12
    Ok so now it doesnt want to start however when i hold option key when turning the machine on it find the Macintosh HDD
     
  13. Justin19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #13
    Update - now seems like errors are on OS HDD as it will not boot.

    Booted into Internet based recovery and performing a "FIRST AID" Check on the OS HDD

    Has come up in red "Invalid Key Length"
    "The volume Macintosh SSD Could not be Verified Completely."
    "ERROR: This disk needs to be repaired Click repair disk"

    Now its doing a repair on volume, estimated time 4 min, seems to be a lot longer - will let it do its thing for a while
    --- Post Merged, Oct 23, 2016 ---
    No luck hasnt moved at all.
     
  14. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
  15. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #15
    If you want to ascertain if it -IS- the cable, you need to swap the location of the two drives.
    If the -new- HDD starts acting flaky, while the old one again runs fine --- it's the cable.

    Go to ifixit.com to find the ribbon cable part number that you need.
    You can buy the cable from them, also.

    Or -- buy it online or at ebay.
     
  16. Justin19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #16
    Ok so i reformatted the SSD and reloaded OS onto it. Installed fine and booted no issues.

    Shut it down and turned back on again could not find OS.

    Strange.

    I guess i will swap the two drives around.
     
  17. iStillMac macrumors newbie

    iStillMac

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Location:
    Egypt
    #17
    You can also try an SMC/PRAM reset, it's a recommended practice after swapping HDD/SSD.
     

Share This Page