MacBook Pro needs prolonged plugin to turn on

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by amin, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. amin macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    My MBP (2.5GHz Core 2 Duo) won't turn on unless I plug it in for a very long time first. I thought it could be a battery problem, so I bought a new battery from the Apple Store, but I still have the same problem. Is there anything else I can try before taking this to the geniuses?
     
  2. Alchemyy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Weird, try resetting the PRAM, this probably won't help but worth a shot.
    Push CMD+Option+P+R while starting it up.
     
  3. amin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    NVRAM/PRAM has nothing to do with battery/power/charging issues. Resetting it will not help.
    Reset the SMC.

    This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:
     
  5. skir0987 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #5
    If you're talking about a 15 or 17-inch MacBook Pro make sure you're using the right power adaptor. I know that with my 15-inch, if I use a 60-watt adaptor from a 13-inch pro, it takes a while to charge before starting because there's no enough power. Your adaptor should be 85W.
     
  6. amin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Thanks! I haven't had the problem so far since resetting the SMC. Fingers crossed that it won't come back. Now I wish I had kept the other battery as a spare instead of throwing it away!

    Thanks, I'll double check. I always assumed that the Magsafe adaptors were all the same and have been using them interchangeably.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    They're not all the same, but you can use any of them.
     
  8. amin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    As it turned out, this was the problem. I was using the adaptor from my MacBook Air :eek:.
     
  9. refurbished macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    #9
    hahhaha! It happened to me too once. I felt pretty stupid when I found out.
     

Share This Page