Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jeky

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 22, 2010
Hi. I need some assistance on my next mac purchase and any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm a college student and my primary computer usage is word processing, web browsing, movies and youtube. Currently I'm torn between getting a macbook pro 13" or an iMac 21.5" (base) with a netbook preferably something like a eeepc just for when I'm at college and during the commute home for report writing. There are obvious pros and cons for both but at this stage not enough to convince me to take one over the other. So I'm just wondering which would be the preferred option by people here.

stridemat

Staff member
Apr 2, 2008
UK
At college a laptop is a wise investment. I have a macbook hooked up to a screen for work at home and can still use the laptop in the library.

Habitat

macrumors newbie
May 27, 2009
Lol. Mac Pro 15" with another monitor. All data with you on the go and when you get home hook it up to the other screen and youre doing it big :)

defekt

macrumors newbie
Dec 25, 2009
I was in a similar situation, ended up getting an iMac and netbook, didn't want to routinely plug and unplug in my monitor and printer daily but what tipped the scales for me was the fact that my uni has flimsy lecture tables. But I do have to have to transfer files via thumb drive regularly if I want to work on my iMac...

Habitus

macrumors 6502a
Feb 26, 2009
Where ever my life takes me...