MacBook Pro or Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ChemiosMurphy, Sep 25, 2007.

1. ChemiosMurphy macrumors 6502

I'm a Freshman Film/Video major at Drexel in Philadelphia. I'm torn between a Mac Pro and a Macbook Pro. The Pro offers tremendous bang for your buck and the technology would last longer than the MBP, but the MBP is portable. I'm a commuter so having a laptop on the train would be cool, but editing on the small 15.4 inch screen is brutal. While the MBP is cheaper than the pro, it probably would get outdated much faster than the pro. And really, do people edit "on the go"? Drexel recommends waiting until sophomore year until buying a machine, but i want to get off windows as fast as possible. So Mac Pro (November update) or Macbook Pro (Penryn Update) for a Film Major?

2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

FF_productions

Are you going to be cutting films on this machine?

I would get a MacBook Pro, they are kick ass laptops.

I would hate to have a Mac Pro for college.

The only risk of having a portable is having it stolen.

3. KJdanReuben macrumors regular

You say editing on the 15.4 inch screen is brutal, but the Mac Pro doesn't even come with a monitor. So, take the money that you were gonna buy the monitor with and buy a nice external display for the MBP. I had to make the same choice as you, only I'm not in school for video or anything. I chose the MBP and a 22" Dell display, portability is what basically made up my mind. Just because you have a notebook doesn't mean you have to "edit on the go," but if you need to, then you can. Either way though, whether you pick the MBP or the Mac Pro, I believe you would be happy.

4. dollystereo macrumors 6502a

dollystereo

The mac Pro is SO MUCH FASTER (I have both and I do Video).
    Besides, you can get a cheap 22" monitor, and is way upgrable (you will need a external FW drive for the MBP).
    It will last you 6 years (I work with my Dual G4).