MacBook Pro or MacBook Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ultra AleM, Jun 22, 2012.

1. Ultra AleM macrumors 6502a

Ultra AleM

Hello everyone. I read your page about the comparison between the notebooks but I still have no idea!

The situation is this: I'd like to buy a portable pc for university (it'll be a birthday present) and I'd like to choose Macbook even if I'm an expert Windows user.

I'd like to know, first, WHY am I going to love Macbooks? What's on compared with pcs?

And then I'd like to tell you about my indecision:
    Air or Pro?

At the same prize (about 1300€) I could get a 13" Air or Pro but:

Air
    1. Faster storage, but less (128 GB) [I have an external Samsung HDD by the way]
    2. Higher resolution but (I heard) worse "gamut" (?!)
    3. Better design (in my hopinion) but few inputs (ports) compared to the Pro
    4. Slower CPU but I don't know if with the faster storage this is not important
    5. Worse audio quality (I heard)
    6. Not upgradable

So I'd like to have a Mac that does not give me problems: I want to have the possibility to use every application without hardware limitations, even Photoshop or Premiere, or HD recording apps and I'd like to have a pc that will last 3 or 4 years and then I'll be able to sell it at good price to get e new one MUAHAH

Then, do you think in October this lineup'll be updated? When usually Macbooks receive updates?

Thanks a lot, guys! Love you.:)

2. leenak macrumors 68020

I don't know what quantifies a Windows expert user but if you are happy with Windows, why do you want to switch?

I personally think the Airs are great and they shouldn't have any issues doing what you want them for.

3. Ultra AleM thread starter macrumors 6502a

Ultra AleM

Because everyone seems to be in agreement that (not considering the prize) Mac computers are extra-ordinary. I'd like to see why.

PS: I'm really satisfied with my iPhone

4. Feed Me macrumors 6502a

Feed Me