Macbook Pro or Macbook Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cnoto, May 16, 2015.

1. cnoto macrumors newbie

I have a 11'Macbook Air (2011), and I'm looking for a new laptop, but I'm in doubt between:

13'Macbook Pro Retina
    2.7GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
    8GB RAM
    256GB

or

13'Macbook Air
    2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
    8GB RAM
    256GB

I use mostly for Internet, Word, Powerpoint, and occasionally for a statistical program (SPSS). Both are exactly the same price.

What do you think is the best option?

2. marc55 macrumors 6502a

marc55

For me, the Retina screen would be the deciding factor.

m

3. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

brdeveloper

For the same price, I'd certainly get the Macbook Pro. You'll also get the Force Touch trackpad, which is not present in the 2015 MBA. Here in Brazil I got a base 2015 MBA 13" to my wife because of a price difference of ~$500 comparing to a base rMBP 13".

4. JTToft macrumors 68040

The Retina MacBook Pro has the Retina Display, a better CPU, better graphics, more ports, a smaller footprint, and a Force Touch Trackpad.

The MacBook Air is thinner and weighs 230 grams less.

That's basically the pros and cons breakdown. What's your preference?

5. MacbookPro2015 macrumors member

If you're going to be using SPSS all the time please get the pro instead. That retina screen will let you work longer without eye fatigue.

6. newellj macrumors 601

I've owned three MBAs and you don't see one in my sig, which tells you how I keep coming out. The only reason I'd buy an MBA, and then only the 13", would be if getting literally every minute of battery time out of the computer was the overriding priority. Almost none of us are away from a plug for that long.

7. redheeler macrumors 603

redheeler

It comes down to your preference of thinner and lighter on the MacBook Air or Retina display, Force Touch trackpad, more ports, and smaller footprint on the rMBP. For me the Retina display would win out.