Macbook Pro or Regular

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jdubbaneh, Jun 7, 2011.

1. jdubbaneh macrumors newbie

Im a college student getting ready to my a Macbook and am wondering if i should spend the extra 200-300 extra and get a Macbook Pro rather than a regular Macbook. As a student I qualify for $100 off my purchase as well.

Also I'm waiting until they launch the free iPod Touch with purchase of laptop for students. Im pretty sure they do it around the same time every year so when was it done last year?

Thanks.

2. cloroxbleach4 macrumors 6502a

cloroxbleach4

You posted this in the Pro forum, so you'll most likely hear, "get the MBP."

Currently the Macbooks have a pretty outdated processor and the new MBPs are very quick with the i5 processor. I would definitely purchase the MBP, well worth the price difference.

I recently just bought my laptop and also a college student. Looking at your profile I'm not sure where you're from but I ended up buying mine for microcenter as they are selling the 13" base MBP for $999. I know the Back to School deal is supposed to start sometime soon, but I would just end up selling the ipod anyway and would end up paying about the same price.

3. DIMEZ macrumors 6502a

DIMEZ

4. efet macrumors newbie

cloroxbleach4 would you mind explaining microcenter.
    I am masters student, can I buy macbook pro nit for $1099 but for $999?

5. cloroxbleach4 macrumors 6502a

cloroxbleach4

Microcenter sells a new 13" Macbook Pro for $999, it's not a student discount.

6. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void