Macbook Pro Penryn Headphone Output Noisy??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by StuNew78, Mar 10, 2008.

1. StuNew78 macrumors newbie

Hi All,

Long time mac user here. Just upgraded my 2.16 to a base model Penryn 2.4 MBP.
    I'm a composer and live with my headphones on my head and plugged into either my ipod or my computer.
    I am very alarmed as to the high level noise floor on the headphone output, i mean it's not a huge amount, but considerably more than previous models.
    When audio is not being played for some time, the noise literally 'clicks' off and then on again when you playback....
    Completely not good enough for a 'Pro' machine in my opinion.

Also, the drivers for XP are absolutely horrific. I'm getting horrible digital artifact noise and a much more shocking noise floor compared to OSX.

any others with the same experience?

thx
    Stu

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

Yeah some people have reported hissing. It's not really bad, but I can hear it sometimes. It's just dirty electrical noise. You're pretty much out of luck unless you an external soundcard.

3. bobcan macrumors 6502a

bobcan

Likely an Impedance Mismatch....

This is likely an Impedance mismatch... my SR MBP has this issue, and it can be "solved" be inserting a Device that is used for Airline Audio Outputs (Shure/ Ultimate Ears/ and other Pro Audio manufacturers) make an In Line Device which has an Attenuator (fancy word for Volume Control) so you can better match and Raise the s/n (Signal to Noise) Ratio accordingly...

Here is such a device, known as a Shure EA650; it will work with pretty much any 1/8" (3.5mm) headsets I am sure ;) :

"Shure offers this level attenuator to reduce the level of incoming signals and allow for precise volume adjustment, minimizing background hiss...."

http://shure.com/PersonalAudio/Products/Accessories/CasesAdapters/us_pa_pa235_level_attenuator

4. Watabou macrumors 68040

Watabou