MacBook Pro Performance

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dave410, Dec 19, 2016.

1. Dave410 macrumors member

Hey Gang,

This is my first post on MacRumors and I hope you folks can help me with a couple of questions. I've been a PC user since 1984 but I'm thinking about going to the Dark Side and switching to Mac, partly for the fun of learning something new and partly because the rest of my family uses Macs and I would be able to help them more if I was more familiar with the Apple ecosystem. Besides, Macs are cool.

First, I’m concerned about performance. I’m a photographer and I wonder about processing large image files on a laptop. Would a new, top-end 13" MacBook Pro provide acceptable performance* for processing RAW files from a Canon 5D3 in Lightroom using add-ins like Perfect Photo Suite and Nik? I travel for a living and I really like the idea of having just one computer to maintain, so I’m looking at the smaller MBP as my one-and-only machine. I would use it as a laptop on the road and then dock it to a large monitor and nice keyboard and mouse when I got home.

Second, if the performance is unacceptable and I have to go with both a desktop and a laptop, how difficult is it to synchronize files between two Mac computers? I did that for a long time when I had a home-built desktop and a Lenovo laptop and it worked just fine, but it was kind of a nuisance. Does Apple have a really good way to synchronize?

Many thanks,
    Dave

* Someone may point out that acceptable performance is subjective, but the rest of you will know what I mean. I'm looking for "Wow, this is fast" instead of "Damn, this is slow."

2. CaptRB macrumors 6502a

CaptRB

Hi there....

I'm a still-life shooter, though I've also done trade show work. I shoot primarily Nikon D810, D800, Df, D500 (just added), but I also handle Canon files for post tweaking at times.

I have the new 13" Touchbar with 8 GB RAM. I'm running Lightroom and PS and also connecting to Dell 4K monitors.