MacBook Pro performance?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gangst, Jun 14, 2008.

1. gangst macrumors 6502a

Hi,

I'm a student and looking to get a new laptop which will alst em a while so i think I will opt for a mac pro. My current Mac is a quad 2.5ghz G5 Powermac with 4GB RAM, and i love the performance as it always feels so sharp and can encode videos really quickly.

My friend has a macbook which i regularly use, i think it is about a year and half old and its feels slow and clunky when using it. Word is a pain in the backside, however that is probably due to it not being the universal binary. Anyway things like tabs in web browsers are slow and it is annoying.

If i buy a 15inch Macbook pro upgrade the processor to the 2.6ghx option and possibly the ram to 4gb, depending on cost. Will it be as fast as my PowerMac? I cannot stand slow computers and regularly run software which requires good amounts of processing power. Also, off topic, if i install windows, are the drivers good enough to run games?

Thanks for any help.

2. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

it will be faster than your powermac I'm pretty sure.

3. gangst thread starter macrumors 6502a

really, thats what i was hoping, my powermac is getting on to three years old now anyway.

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

It should be just as fast for a lot things, not to say all.

And all you need is the 2.5GHz, but of course if you are looking for the fastest, I guess it doesn't hurt to get the the 2.6GHz

5. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

Office 2004 is a bit of a pain on both Intel and PPC machines. I've heard Office 2008 is a bit faster, but that is just from reading a few reviews. Also heard '08 is somewhat of a pain in terms of its abilities. At the moment, I'm just sticking to Office 2004 for compatibility and using iWorks 08 for everything else.