Macbook Pro powering off when supposed to sleep

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by philgilder, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Recently, my MBP has started powering down instead of sleeping, either when closing the lid or using the sleep command from the Apple menu.

    When I need to use it, I have to power it on using the power button, at which point it either boots up as if you had just turned it on, or it will restore the RAM image as if power has been lost during a sleep

    Any ideas why this may be? I upgraded to SLeo when it came out, and have also tried a clean install and resetting PRAM and NVRAM. Any ideas?

    It happens with and without battery, and in screen closed (with external monitor) or when used by itself.

    Thanks
     
  2. dxb 13inch pro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #2
    I have the same problem, when I put it on sleep mode it sometimes powers down.
     
  3. philgilder thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  4. RetepNamenots macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #4
    Open up a terminal and type this:

    sudo pmset hibernatemode 3


    and hit enter, you will be asked for your admin password, and you will not see any feedback when you type it in. Just type it and hit the enter key again. That will restore the default behavior for sleep.
     
  5. philgilder thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    thanks for that, although unfortunately it didn't correct the issue
     
  6. dxb 13inch pro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #6
    Nope not yet.
     
  7. philgilder thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    an SMC reset seems to have fixed it
    EDIT: nope, still broken
     
  8. occamsrazor macrumors 6502

    occamsrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #8
    When you say "powering down" - do you mean actual shutdown, or hibernate? If hibernate, then yes I've same problem...
     
  9. p3ncil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #9
    does isight/build in mic etc work?
    sounds like a loose connection to me.

    since you mentioned about removing battery... i suppose you wouldn't mind touching the logic board.

    Check for loose connections.
    If there are none.
    Genius bar.
     
  10. philgilder thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    yes and no, sometimes it hibernates where it restores the state from an image saved to the HDD, sometimes it totally powers down required a boot right from the apple logo

    i might take it to the apple store

    how would a loose connection make this happen? and the mic/isight work
     

Share This Page