MacBook PRO RAM question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tooshaggy, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. tooshaggy macrumors regular

    tooshaggy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    Maybe a dumb question: I have a new 13.3 MBP and upgraded the ram. I also have a 2005 MBP 15" that needs ram. I have 2 extra 2gig ram cards now, can I put one in the 15" without it blowing up?? I would only run one 2 gig card.
    :confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    No ... the new machine uses DDR3 and the old one uses DDR2. They are not compatible.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    It won't work, as they're not compatible, but it won't blow up!
     
  4. tooshaggy thread starter macrumors regular

    tooshaggy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #4
    That was my first thought, worth the question. Thanks.
    More ram is only 25$. No biggie.
     
  5. dontpannic macrumors 6502

    dontpannic

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Orpington, Kent, UK
    #5
    I doubt that the 2005 would accept the same RAM to be honest. It's touch and go if the RAM from this 2011 MBP will work in my sisters late 2009 MB.
     

Share This Page