Macbook Pro randomly going into sleep mode when using Blackmagic EGPU

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kipwheeler, Sep 30, 2018.

  1. kipwheeler macrumors regular

    kipwheeler

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    #1
    The title sums it up, but the longer version is that I'm using a 15-inch 2017 Macbook Pro with Mojave 10.14, 2.9 HGz Intel Core i7, and a Blackmagic EGPU.

    In the last two days, I've been having a recurring issue in which, while the EGPU is running, the computer randomly goes into PowerSave mode and shuts down while I'm using it. It only happens when the EPGU is attached and driving an external monitor (which is why I bought the Blackmagic box to begin with). Any suggestions on how to fix this?
     
  2. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Paris
    #2
    Maybe you didn’t this already but in energy settings disable automatic graphics switching and disable everything else from sleeping.
     
  3. kipwheeler thread starter macrumors regular

    kipwheeler

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    #3
    Oh! I'll give that a try. Thank you for that tip.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 2, 2018 ---
    Argh. No luck. Even with the automatic graphic switching disabled, and everything else set up not to sleep, it still freezes as soon as I plug in the EGPU.

    To be more accurate, it semi-freezes. The mouse and trackpad still respond, but I can't click anything or manipulate any programs on the laptop's main screen, and the external monitor immediately goes into its own powersaving mode (the way it does when it's not plugged into a computer.)
     
  4. giffut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    Do you use the Blackmagic eGPU to power your Macbook? If yes, then this might be a power delivery issue. Try the macbooks power cable and attach it on a secoind USB-C port while using the eGPU.
     
  5. kipwheeler thread starter macrumors regular

    kipwheeler

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    #5
    I'll give that a shot and report back. Thank you for the suggestion.
     
  6. kipwheeler thread starter macrumors regular

    kipwheeler

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    #6
    Quick update: Using the power cable on a second USB-C port rather than the eGPU doesn't alter the problem.

    What I've realized though, is that the problem isn't that the laptop itself is going to sleep. The problem is the external monitor is going into powersave mode and shutting off--the mac laptop itself is actually still running in clamshell mode rather than projecting to the external monitor. The laptop itself is still on when I open up the computer--just frozen. The trackpad and/or mouse can still move the cursor, but I can't actually interact with any programs or documents and have to do a hard reboot.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Some monitors have a setup/menu system to alter settings. Is there anything you can do to turn off that feature on the monitor?
     
  8. kipwheeler thread starter macrumors regular

    kipwheeler

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    #8
    Update: I'd been talking with Blackmagic technical support online, and after checking out various possibilities with me, they are leaning toward a hardware or mechanical problem in the Blackmagic unit itself rather than a problem with the Macbook Pro or the monitor. They are having me mail the Blackmagic unit back to them for further investigation.

    Thanks, everyone, for your suggestions thus far. I'll report back in a week or two after the Blackmagic lads and lasses have been through the guts of the machine.
     
  9. cloudyo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #9
    I was gonna say that it sounds like the eGPU is faulty. I'm glad you're getting a good service from Blackmagic, because I am thinking about getting the eGPU myself.
     
  10. kipwheeler thread starter macrumors regular

    kipwheeler

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    #10
    Just an update to Cloudyo and other interested parties. I sent the Blackmagic unit back, and they replaced it with a brand new one that is functioning fine. It appears to be a case of a faulty hardware component. The replacement process took about two weeks total, but part of that delay was on my end for not getting the original mailed back to them in a timely manner.
     

Share This Page

9 September 30, 2018