MacBook Pro Retina 13 => 2 external monitors

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shearer3000, Apr 1, 2013.

  1. shearer3000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    #1
    hi

    What I've worked out so far is that i'll have no issues using the two thunderbolt/mini displayports on my retina macbook 13 to drive two external monitors, specifically two 24" Dell monitors via xxxx connections (probably DVI-D or DisplayPort). (haven't actually got monitors yet.)

    so, my question is if have Windows 7 running via boot camp will the above monitor scenario run natively as it does on OSX, or will i have issues?

    thanks
     
  2. MrMacMack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #2
    That's a good question. I don't know. Subscribing to the thread and waiting with you for an answer on this.
     
  3. erbaker67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #3
    I am curious as well. I have the monitors and the rMBP but the adapters are on their way. Hope my rMBP is enough if not, Im not sure if I am still in the return period. :-(
     
  4. Asuriyan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4
    Yes, that will work. Windows' support for external monitors on a Mac is just like any other computer.

    Depending on the resolution of your monitors you will likely need to make sure you are using dual-link DVI adapters.
     
  5. erbaker67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #5
    Asuriyan, sorry if this is a stupid question as I have just made the transition from PC to MAC. I have a 13.3" Mac Book Pro with Retina Display and going to hook up two Dell U22H Monitors that run at 1920 x 1080. What I ordered were

    Link


    Do you think that will work?
     
  6. Asuriyan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    #6
    Looks right. If you ever want to use a higher resolution monitor, or if those run at anything over 60hz, you would need dual link, but for what you're doing those are fine.
     
  7. erbaker67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #7
    Thank you so much! Cant wait.
     
  8. erbaker67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #8
    I should get the adapters by Saturday and I already have the monitors. I will post how it looks and everything. I am also waiting on a dual monitor stand and will be purchasing a MBP stand as well as wired keyboard and mouse and or trackpad. I will let you know. Must say that I am very happy with the move to OSX. Thanks for all the help on here!
     
  9. shearer3000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    #9
    thanks for the info. I had presumed that the thunderbolt/minidisplay => DVI connection was a hardware level thing, and something that both windows7 and OSX could utilise on my rMacbookpro, but i wanted to double check. :)

    Also, am i right in thinking my rMacbookpro could run two external dell monitors of 1900x1200? I thought the "Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter" was only for the 30" Cinema display on older macs? If I need to use this then I'd only be able to connect one external monitor becuase it would take up both of my minidisplay ports?

    thanks :D
     
  10. erbaker67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #10
    Shearer although I can not tell you about your resolution. I did set up two external dell monitors running at 1920*1080. I really use it for accounting purposes and research. I have had netflix running on one and use excel and what not and I love the performance.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #11
    The dual-link DVI adapter uses one mini-Displayport connection and one USB connection. It's for monitors that specifically require dual-link DVI to drive the full resolution, like those with 2560x1440 or 2560x1600 resolutions.

    You should be fine with standard DVI for your 1920x1200 displays.
     
  12. gjames2467 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #12
    Hey erbaker67

    Just wondering if you bought two cords in order to hook up both monitors. AKA does each monitor need its on cord and thus you are using both thunderbolt ports to power the two monitors.

    Bests,
    George
     

Share This Page