Macbook Pro Retina 13" or Regular Macbook Pro 13"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adiallo98, Sep 22, 2013.

1. adiallo98 macrumors newbie

Hello I'm a student and want to know which macbook pro to get, I will be doing editing and computer programming. The regular 13" would allow me to run 2 SSD and upgrade ram but the retina gives me more real estate. Or should I just get a 15" retina or non retina?

2. v654321 macrumors member

Wait for the Haswell refresh that is around the corner. Or take a retina.

3. Mac.User macrumors 6502

That doesn't help his question. Wait for a better CPU or get a Retina? Even the next Retina will get the better CPU, and that doesn't address his storage/RAM needs.

4. adiallo98 thread starter macrumors newbie

I'll need a minimum of 8gb of ram so I'm unsure although the air looks probable I don't like its small resolution

5. ob81 macrumors 65816

ob81

The resolution on the Air is great (13"). i have owned a 15" rmbp and a 13" rmbp. Trust me. Save yourself some money and gain tons of battery life and portability.

Between the regular version and the rmbp 13"? Grab the rmbp. The buyer's guide on macrumors says "don't buy" right now though. New updates pretty soon.

6. adiallo98 thread starter macrumors newbie

How long do you think before a refresh? And are you recommending the air or pro?

7. Rhythmic- macrumors member

Do you feel like you really need to run 2 SSDs, whether it's right now or in the foreseeable future? If you do, then go and get the current cMBP. I recently just got mine and upgraded it to 16GB RAM and 512GB SSD. I don't regret waiting for the 2013 MBPs one bit. Besides, there's a rumor that the cMBP might not get a refresh and that we're only gonna be seeing rMBPs from here on out. With the cMBP, you're free to upgrade it to your liking. Though if you don't mind not being able to, then I suggest you just wait for the refresh rMBP. Should be coming out next month.

8. ob81 macrumors 65816

ob81