MacBook Pro retina: Mid-range 13" or Low-range 15"?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ellenccc, Jan 25, 2015.

1. Ellenccc macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I'm a second-year university student looking to get the latest MacBook Pro retina (switching from a PC). I have been to the store and tried both - I am very torn between getting a mid-range 13" (I want the 256GB SSD) or a low-range 15". With the Apple care, student discounts and tax (15% here), the difference in price comes down to $700 CAD. I am not sure whether spending this extra cash is worth is as I do not do any graphic or hardcore programming work. I use my laptop mostly to type notes, read and watch movies & TV series. I should mention that I will not consider MacBook Air, it's too thin for my taste (I feel like I will easily drop it or break it haha). Here are some pros and cons I've came up with - I wish to get some insight from all of you who have had experience with MacBook Pros:

13":
    Pros:
    1. About 1kg lighter in weight, the charger is also lighter than the one used for 15", so it will add up to be more than 1kg lighter --> more portable
    2. Longer battery life (though I'll most likely be carrying around the charger anyway, I will almost always have somewhere to plug at school)
    3. Cheaper ($700 CAD less than the 15")
    Cons:
    1. Smaller screen (I've never used a laptop under 15.4", I have no idea whether 13" is enough as a comfortable size to work with for long hours), maybe eyes will get tired more easily
    2. Since there is less screen space, when working on programs such as Microsoft Office with multiple documents, have to spend little extra time adjusting size of the window or display (zoom in and such)

15":
    Pros:
    1. Bigger screen, which makes the "retina" part much more obvious and apparent --> nicer to watch videos and movies.