Macbook Pro Retina vs. Macbook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by robotics5000, Jul 24, 2014.

1. robotics5000 macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I am having a huge time deciding between these two models:

1) Macbook Air - 13"; 8GB RAM; 256GB SSD; i5; 1.4GHz; $1300

or

2) Macbook Pro Retina - 13"; 8GB RAM; 256GB SSD; i5; 2.4GHz; $1500

I am an avid programmer and use a lot of CPU intensive applications to code.
    I am a student, and use the web for heavy, heavy research and need battery life. I also use Microsoft Office very frequently.
    Which one do I pick? I want a laptop that has good battery life and has the ability to run CPU intensive processes, while not sacrificing speed.

Thanks all!

2. Sifinity macrumors 6502

Sifinity

get the retina ; the screen is phenomenal to look at for typing/coding , you may need an external display as for most coders 13 inches doesn't cut it , but thats up to you , also upgrade the ram to 16gbs as you may need it for vmware and it will be future proof .

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Pick the rMBP
    For the small increase in price, you get a better display by far. A faster CPU and a better GPU.

I think the only reason to select the MBA is for the battery. If you need extra long battery life, then get the MBA.

4. robotics5000 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks for your timely responses!
    the thing is - i really don't care about screen quality when it comes to coding
    the real question between the models is this:
    Is 2.4GHz that far better than 1.4GHz (found in the MBA) and is a $200 price difference for that worth it? please remember that I am a student and cannot afford to buy 1.5 grand laptops that often....

thank you!

5. capathy21 macrumors 65816

capathy21