MacBook Pro Retina vs. MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by b134, Nov 5, 2013.

1. b134 macrumors newbie

Hi guys!

I'm new here and I'm looking for some advice. I currently have the non-retina mid 2012 version of the MacBook Pro 13 inch, base model.

13-inch
    2.5GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
    Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz
    4GB 1600MHz memory
    500GB 5400-rpm hard drive1
    Intel HD Graphics 4000

I'm looking into getting the new late 2013 model of the retina MacBook Pro 13 inch, however, I'm not sure which to get. I know I want the 13 inch because of portability (I'm a student).

I'm between:

The base model:
    2.4GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
    Turbo Boost up to 2.9GHz
    4GB 1600MHz memory
    128GB PCIe-based flash storage1
    Intel Iris Graphics

The mid range model:
    Turbo Boost up to 2.9GHz
    8GB 1600MHz memory
    256GB PCIe-based flash storage1
    Intel Iris Graphics

I definitely want 8GB of ram and I will upgrade the processor on both, but I'm having trouble deciphering between 128GB and 256GB flash storage. Anyone have any advice on which to get? :confused:

2. NewYorkRanger macrumors regular

NewYorkRanger

Buy more today and and have no regrets tomorrow.

Go 256 - you get more storage and it is much faster than 128, in terms of read and write speeds. It's only a few hundreds diallers more you get double the ram and double the HD space. No brainer.

And make sure to buy via an education discount.

3. glenthompson macrumors 68000

glenthompson

Do you need the retina display? Otherwise you can save a bunch of money by upgrading your current machine with a SSD and more memory. It made my 2011 MBP feel like a new machine. Just added a SDD to my wife's iMac and she is ecstatic about the performance.

4. skaertus macrumors 68030

skaertus

Take the medium-range model, it's only US$ 100 more for an additional 128 GB. It's worth it. Do you need the upgraded processor?

5. b134 thread starter macrumors newbie