[MacBook Pro] Running but black screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ndthuan, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. ndthuan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #1
    Hi all,

    After forcing my notebook to sleep, my MB did not display anything although it's still running. I can control through LogMeIn.com, but I saw that the resolution was wrong: 1280x1024 instead of 1440x900 as usual.

    I did something:
    - reboot (through LogMeIn) and reset PRAM
    - put it to sleep and wake up again
    - press F2 and F1 (brightness control keys)

    but the screen is still black.

    Please help me!
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #2
    Shine a flashlight at the screen, really closely, while the laptop is running. Look at the screen. Can you see a faint outline of the screen, as if the computer was working normally, but with the backlight off?

    On 2nd thought, as long as it's still under warranty, just call Apple. They'll fix it for for you for free.
     
  3. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #3
    If it is a Santa Rosa (mid 2007 model) then your GPU unit has failed... go under About this Mac > More Info > and select Graphics/Displays. I bet it shows an Intel 3100 instead of the 8600M. If this is the case, Apple has extended the warranty of this particular GPU for an additional 2 years
     
  4. Pax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    #4
    Did you reset the SMC as well as the PRAM? It is more likely to be an SMC problem than a PRAM one.

    Apple site will tell you how to reset the SMC for your model
     
  5. ndthuan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #5
    wow, exactly! i'll bring it to Apple.

    Thank you all!
     

Share This Page