Macbook Pro running slow with pinwheel

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by brittrose911, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. brittrose911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I have had my macbook pro for 3 years but I feel like I still don't know much about it. This is the 1st time I am having a problem.

    I opened activity monitor & obviously I am running a lot of crap that I dont know how to shut down.

    If I go into system memory:
    Free: 39.4mg!! Hello big problem VM Size: 115.84GB
    Wired 628.3mg Page in: 3.67gb
    Active 2.16gb Page out 1.90gb
    Inactive 1.19gb Swap used 2.39gb
    Used: 3.96gb

    Can someone please help me figure this out. I dont know how to close the processes & i dont know how to fix the problem period.

    Thank you :)
     
  2. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #2
    You need more RAM. Easy upgrade.

    Low free RAM, causing it to Page Out. When it does "page outs" it starts running extremely slow.
     
  3. brittrose911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    #3
    I realized after I closed out Firefox, my free went up to 2.67gb. Could it just be something with Firefox?
     
  4. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #4
    Next time take screenshots of the activity monitor when you're having the problem. Make sure to sort RAM usage as highest to lowest so the highest are at the top.

    Screenshot and post those when you have the "beach balling"
     
  5. mac82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #5
    He does not have low free RAM. Inactive memory is essentially free RAM, and 1GB free on a 4GB system is quite normal. His page-outs are not excessive either. I can have much higher page-outs on my macs without beachballing. If his computer is lagging it's much more likely to be the result of a rogue process using most of the CPU's resources.

    To the OP: next time your computer is lagging, open Activity Monitor, change My Processes to All Processes, click on the CPU tab to sort processes by descending order with those using the most CPU at the top, and see if anything is using an excessive amount of the processor. That will be the rogue process.
     
  6. VanillaCracker macrumors 68030

    VanillaCracker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #7
    Might not be a he, btw.
     
  7. mac82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #8
    I assume everyone's a man until proven superior.
     
  8. VanillaCracker macrumors 68030

    VanillaCracker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #9
    Lol I'm just saying
     
  9. Count Blah macrumors 68030

    Count Blah

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    US of A
    #10
    Computer tech forum, the odds are greatly in HIS favor.


    See what I did there ;)
     
  10. VanillaCracker macrumors 68030

    VanillaCracker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #11
    Lol. Yes, I certainly did. But I mean just look at the name, come on.
     

Share This Page