Macbook Pro Slow Solution

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macgeek7860, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. macgeek7860 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #1
    Hey guys I currently own a Macbook Pro Mid 2012 13inch with 500GB HDD and 4GB RAM. I am currently on the latest software update. I am also running Window 10 via bootcamp. I am seeing that when I run Mac OSX, the computer is very slow and unstable but when I run Window 10, the computer is fast and stable. Is there anything I can do to make the macbook pro faster when running Mac OSX?
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Without knowing your usage, when it's slow or what you mean by unstable, the best I can offer is this: remove the HDD and install a SSD.
     
  3. friedkimchi macrumors regular

    friedkimchi

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #3
    Might want to reformat and install OS X clean. Removes a lot of unwanted files.

    Or simply add a SSD, Samsung EVO 840 is highly recommended.
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
  5. macgeek7860 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #5
    The computer tends to freeze every single time I open an application. After opening the application, it takes 20-30 seconds for the application to respond on every click or move I make. I was thinking about doing RAM upgrades but first I wanted to make sure whether this would be the best approach or not.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    If it works well under Windows, you likely do not have a hardware problem. Can you explain more what is going on under OS X? Have you installed any new software neatly that may be causing problems?

    Just as a troubleshooting step, try holding the shift key at startup to boot to safe mode. That bypasses any login or startup items that may be causing a conflict. If a safe mode boot helps, come back here and let us know.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Ordinarily, that is a sign of a failing hard drive, but it is odd it is working okay in Windows. More RAM will not help this. Try the safe mode boot I mentioned and let us know if that helps.
     
  8. macgeek7860 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #8
    The Safe Boot Start-Up made the computer faster not by much though. I'm still seeing 20-30 seconds waiting times for starting up programs such as microsoft words and microsoft powerpoint along with occasional freezing.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Hmm.... that does sound like a failing disk, but I am troubled by the fact it does not happen under Windows.

    Try a command-r boot to recovery and from there use Disk Utility to run a verify disk and see if that reports anything.
     
  10. macgeek7860 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #10
    Nevermind I think I solved the problem. I had a lot of program that would start-up from the very beginning when turning on the computer, so I turned it all off and that seem to solve the problem. Thanks for the help!

    By the way if I want to buy a SSD hard drive is there any way I can transfer the bootcamp image from the old hard drive to the new hard drive?
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Yes... WinClone will do that for you.

    http://twocanoes.com/products/mac/winclone
     

Share This Page