Macbook Pro sluggish after Yosemite update

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Billishoho, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. Billishoho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #1
    Hello there,
    I recently updated to yosemite beta 5 and beta 6 at the same time (i've first installed beta 5 and then 6) and after that my macbook is realy sluggish and laggy.
    Som things i've noticed,
    WindowServer consumes like 150-200% of cpu power
    nothing happens when i try to change the brightness on the screen
    the graphics are all laggy and chopy
    and the graphics card does not seem to be recognised because it says it only has 3mb of ram(see picture attached).

    I've tried smc reset but nothing happened. Is there any way to save it or should i reinstall os x?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. T-Will macrumors 6502a

    T-Will

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #2
    Does Yosemite have the "automatic graphics switching" option under System Prefs -> Energy Saver? I wonder if you can flip that switch. I think you got bigger problems though with the video card not being recognized. ;)
     
  3. Nde macrumors 6502a

    Nde

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Looks like you are running the beta version. Have you try running the production version and see if it resolve your problem? There is really no point of trying to fix or diagnose the beta versions if the production is out.
     
  4. Billishoho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #4
    Well, I own a macbook pro 13" which does not have a seperate graphics card.
    just the HD300 which is on the same chip as the cpu.

    I still cannot see the production version able for download :/
     
  5. Billishoho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #5
    hey, sorry for bumping but can someone please help me?
    I've already downloaded yosemite but I think that if I install them
    all of my data will be erased :/
     
  6. jsolares macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Land of eternal Spring
    #6
    It shouldn't, i just upgraded both a Mavericks and a Yosemite GM Candidate installs and no problem, however be sure to have your data backed up, you never know.
     

Share This Page