MacBook PRO some light gaming

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Trynty, Feb 19, 2018.

1. Trynty macrumors newbie

Trynty

Hello Macbook users.
    Im kinda new with this macbook thing, i just bought my new MBP 2017 with touchbar and im wondering if i could play some games like CS:GO.
    I heard some people telling that it's better to play some games in Windows with boot camp. Is that possible? This mac will run good on Windows in boot camp?
    If I install Windows on boot camp, will be like a normal notebook or not?
    Thank you!

2. leman macrumors G3

CS:GO seems to be supported on Steam under macOS, didn't play it but see no reason why it shouldn't work. Its an old game and will run on basically anything nowadays. Performance on Windows for games is generally better since both games and drivers are optimised better for Windows. If you have a Mac with a dGPU (15"), make sure to install latest drivers from bootcampdrivers.com when running on Windows.

3. Trynty thread starter macrumors newbie

Trynty

Im using a MacBook Pro 13:(, but i still need to take latest drivers from there right?
    I just asked a friend about cs:go in windows or some light games, and it told me he had max 60 grades temp on macos and 100 in windows, how is that posibble? 40 grades difference?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 19, 2018 ---
    Can I ask what is that kernel_tast from activity monitor and why is it using so much rams? he uses me 680 mb ram

4. leman macrumors G3

The drivers from that site only work for AMD graphic cards, you don't have it. Just don't worry. And ignore your friend. Also, stop looking at the activity monitor. There is no problem with your computer until you actively start looking fro one :D

5. Trynty thread starter macrumors newbie

Trynty

How's the best method to dual boot on Windows? with boot camp or Parallels?
    Can you give me an link to something about bootcamp? im kinda afraid to do it by myself with no info about it.