MacBook Pro....the first two months

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hayduke60, Apr 25, 2009.

1. Hayduke60 macrumors regular

This is my first Mac, and my first post on this forum. While I learned about computers on a IIe and a IIgs, they belonged to schools and friends, this is the first Apple computer that is truly mine. This little aluminum box has replaced my prehistoric gateway pentium II desktop. I kept that desktop alive way way past it's born on date.
    This beautiful little jewel is pure joy. In the two months of ownership, I've had nothing go wrong. It just plain works. It does what I want with little ado. The learning curve was a little steep, but not too terribly daunting. It's fit and finish are nothing short of amazing. Being a toolmaker by trade, I machine aluminum on an almost daily basis, so I really appreciate the fine workmanship. The little holes for the speaker grills, still to this day amaze me.
    My new Macbook pro has become "my precious" and probably will maintain that status for years to come.

Just thought I'd share.

My name is Tom and I'm now a Mac.

2. rw3 macrumors 6502a

rw3

Welcome to the Forum and to the cult known as Apple!!! All kidding aside, their "it just works" slogan was true for me back in Feb '08 when I made the switch. I'm working on getting everyone in my family to switch over which is proving difficult.

Did find one statement interesting: the learning curve was a little steep.....Coming from the Windows world and setting up networks, etc, I found the Mac to just work in that area too. The Windows task of getting everything running smoothly and the way you want it has to be double if not triple the amount of clicks and work, maybe that is just my experience, but I love OS X and how easy and simple it is to navigate and get to work, and work well.

Again, welcome and Happy Apple Macing!!!

3. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

ViciousShadow21