macbook pro to 52in hdtv

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 88888888, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. 88888888 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #1
  2. Shownarou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    Newton, IA
    #2
    Yes, that would be exactly what I use to connect my MBP to my stereo.
     
  3. mac.by.jake macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #3
    I can't promise it will/won't work. I use two different cables (depending on the room): 1. a speaker cable with one end fitting the headphone port and the other plugging right into the speakers. 2. The second cable I use is similar to what you are using: for my TV/speakers in the den I have a cable that fits the headphone port on the laptop with a RCA type male connections on the other side (these plug into a receiver driving my speakers. It works well/

    I did buy several different cables to ensure it would work. I then returned the ones I didn't need.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  5. Shownarou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    Newton, IA
    #5
    That's a toslink to mini-toslink cable right?
     
  6. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #6
    Yes, that is what you want
     
  7. 88888888 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #7
    whoa... what's a toslink.. ive never seen that before = =
     
  8. Shownarou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    Newton, IA
    #8
    It's a digital optical cable. Provides much better audio signal than using component or mini-jack cables. The macbook pro has a mini-toslink jack, which you can use this cable to connect to your stereo receiver that should have a toslink connection. I used a regular toslink cable to connect my 360 to my reciever. It really does do a better job.
     
  9. mac.by.jake macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #9
    Just learned something new. I did not know that the MCB had a toslink. I also did not know that a toslink could be used for audio. Yes I've been way out of the AV seen.
     

Share This Page