Macbook Pro Underscan/Overscan Slider Help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ividify, Jan 23, 2012.

  1. ividify macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    #1
    I've got a 2010 13" Macbook Pro with 4GB of RAM, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor and im trying to connect it via HDMI to an external monitor.

    The problem Im having is that under the Display tab in System Preferences, the Underscan/Overscan bar is grayed-out and I can't adjust it at all. I need to do so in order to properly fit my desktop onto the 32" HDTV. I have tried all resolution options and that doesn't seem to be the issue. I just need to adjust the slider and everything would be fine.
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    your started a new thread to ask the same question you asked in your last thread?
     
  3. mandapop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #3
    same answer I gave in a different thread..

    Okay, I was having the same problem... Trying to connect Macbook Pro to a 24in monitor... And I was SO disappointed I had to use the "underscanning" feature in the Displays box to make the bigger screen slightly smaller so it fit everything in there... This was horrible to me because it also made things less clear.

    BUT I FIXED THE PROBLEM!

    Go into your little settings within your ACTUAL MONITOR... And there's a section that talks about "Input"... Mine says "Input Select".. And where it mentions "HDMI", it gives an option of PC or AV... It was set to AV!! So I set it to PC and life became wonderful again! :) Spread the word. This seems to be a common problem but not everyone realizes it's the monitor.
     
  4. surfbo740 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #4
    Is it a Samsung monitor/tv? If so, you should follow these steps if you're connected over hdmi.

    1) Go into "Menu" and scroll to "Input"
    2) Choose the "Edit Name" option and scroll to "HDMI"
    3) Select "DVI PC"
    4) Once you exit the "Menu," you should be able to view 1080p in clear, sharp detail
     

Share This Page