MacBook Pro update cycle

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by danslatts, Nov 6, 2007.

1. danslatts macrumors newbie

Ok, so I am relatively new to the :apple: scene (so new that I don't know what usually happens before/during an upgrade)

My question is, when a new version of the MacBook Pro comes out do they retain the previous generations price? or do they usually go up in price?

Also, is there normally a price-cut on the current generation prior to a new release?

2. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

The price point for new models remains mostly constant. The few times the price point has changed has been because a brand new model has come out (ie, iBook>>>macbook) or because a drastic redesign has occurred. If you were to buy a new SR macbook today, and tomorrow it got updated again (not going to happen btw), then the price would remain the same for the new macbook.

You can buy the previous version for less via the refurbished store. Be warned however that you might get a machine that was never opened, or one that had to be fixed up before it could be sold. It really is a coin toss. Other retailers might also try to clear older stock by putting them on sale, so this really depends on how aggressive you are at finding such deals.

Lastly, the macbooks and macbook pros have had their updates for the year. The next update you'll see for the macbook pro will probably be in January or February (likely a little later) and the macbook will probably see an update after April or May. Thus, if you're looking to buy, now is a great time.

3. danslatts thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you for such a prompt reply and the helpful information.

4. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

No problem. Out of curiosity, what are you looking to get? What do you need the computer to do for you?

5. danslatts thread starter macrumors newbie