Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SolracSelbor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 26, 2007
Hi guys,

1)
This is my first post here. I am currently a PC user but I really want a mac and am getting no where with vista. What I wanted to know is if you can add a sound card to the MBP, I love watching movies on my laptop now and i use a 5.1 surround sound system on a Audigy sound card. I am planning on waiting for the new ones in January but it will definaetly be a 17'' High rez screen (still not sure about glossy or matte tho).

2)
Also, I am a college student and I wanted to know if anyone has had experience with lugging around the 17'' MBP, whether it's a nuisance or not.

3)
Does anyone know if the New MBP will have an updated graphics card, the current one is horrible, and I dont want to give up gaming just because the MACs cant handle it.

4)
Whats the best and cheapest way to get a Mac? I was told that since i am a student i should purchase the student developer membership and use my one time developer hardware purchase. Is there any other way?

Thanks everyone for helping me out! Merry Christmas! Happy Hanukkah! Happy Kwanzaa..etc...etc:apple:

StealthRider

macrumors 65816
Jan 23, 2002
Here and there!
1.) If you can find an ExpressCard/34 or FireWire sound card, then you can add a sound card. However, the MBP supports 5.1 optical output in its stock configuration.

2.) I have a 15" MBP, but I spent some time "lugging" a 17" PowerBook a couple of years ago. It's pretty big, no question - forget using it on airplanes or putting it safely on those little tiny pull-up desks they love in college lecture halls.