Macbook Pro Upgrades-Which to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by writergirl, Jun 25, 2012.

1. writergirl macrumors newbie

I am a freelance writer and editor. I mainly use Word, Acrobat Standard, Photoshop Elements and InCopy.

I am ready to upgrade my MacBook Pro. At first I was hesitant about whether or not I needed the Retina display but after reading reviews, it appears that it might be better for me. Generally I read and edit a ton of copy on my computer.

Where my confusion comes in is all the upgrades available. I generally buy a new computer every 4 years, so I want as much power as I need to stay viable for those 4 years.

Which upgrades do you recommend? This is what I'm looking at:
    ***I upgraded the processor from the 2.6 to the 2.7. It's an extra $250, worth it?
    * 2.7GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.7GHz

* 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB

***I didn't upgrade the hard drive. Should I upgrade it to 7200rpm for an exra $100?
    * 750GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    * SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

2. throAU, Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012

throAU macrumors 601

throAU

If you're using it for writing stuff/editing text...

RAM: get 8gb or more - 16 gb is possibly overkill for your usage.
    SSD: get one, 256gb or bigger
    CPU: don't care
    Video: don't care

The biggest performance improvements you will see are from the SSD drive and the RAM, in that order. For looking at text all day i'd definitely recommend the retina display. Text is so much clearer.

I would definitely suggest NOT going for the cpu upgrade. It is less than 10% faster, assuming your workload is flat out on CPU. Your workload won't be (thus, you won't see any gain) - if your macbook doesn't currently sound like a jet turbine all day (fan noise), it isn't running maximum CPU load all the time. CPU upgrade will make very little difference for your workload and is money far better spent on an SSD (or a larger SSD).