MacBook Pro virgin....

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bronze84, Oct 7, 2012.

1. Bronze84 macrumors newbie

Hi guys. Newbie here so don't bite. :)

Well I've been a windows user for last 15 years. However since buying an iPhone 4S I've been hooked! That led me to buy an iPad 2 and today I've just placed an order from Apple for a MacBook Pro 13". I upgraded to 8gb ram and a 750gb hdd. Cannot wait for delivery!

Anyway. Hope I've posted in the right section as couldn't find a newbie area(?!)

Couple of quick questions - what is the easiest way to transfer everything from my pc to my MacBook? - was thinking of using an external hdd?

Secondly, is there a 'hints and tips' section of the forum?

Cheers

Martin

2. snaky69 macrumors 603

You have the right idea with the external hard drive. Hope you didn't buy those upgrades straight from Apple, a hard drive can be have for about 100-120 while 8GB RAM can be had for right around 40 bucks from a third party, Apple overcharges a whole lot for upgrades.

Welcome to the dark side!

3. liushi macrumors newbie

liushi

To your first question:
    I think using an external hdd is the most straight forward way. Since you need not setup anything.

Other options include setting up a local network and usingSamba, FTP, or NFS. It takes time to set up these things, especially if you need to first figure out how to use them. However, once set up, your transfer will be faster.

To your second question:
    I'm new to Mac too. I think a book such as OS X Mountain Lion Pocket Guideis great.

4. Bronze84 thread starter macrumors newbie

Dam! Yep I upgraded it through the website. Well first mistake made! I didn't buy Pages etc are these available on the Mac App Store if I decide later on to buy? I have them for my ipad

5. snaky69 macrumors 603

Yes they are available through the App Store.

6. Bronze84 thread starter macrumors newbie