MacBook Pro vs iMac 27" for video editing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dany74m, May 12, 2014.

1. dany74m macrumors member

Hi Guys,

I'm a professional videographer and I use primary to edit adobe Premiere. In the beginning I was needing of power and portability so I bought the late 2013 Macbook pro with 16gb and 1TB SSD. I have to say I'm quite satisfied with this machine, considering that is a Notebook is an amazing beast, even if some time with complex video suffers a little.

Now things are changed and portability for me is not anymore an issue, so I'm trying to understand if to sell my macbook pro and buy the top IMAC 27" with the GTX 780M 4gb. I thought the IMAC would have been be faster and would have been let me to edit smother, but than I read something about the intel iris being faster than the GTX. So I'm a little confused. Is it worth to switch to the IMAC, or the performance would be the same, so it is better just buy an external 27" monitor and continue to edit with my macbook pro?

Thank you.

2. chenderson2 macrumors member

I bought the iMac 27" and switched it out for the late 2013 MacBook Pro 15", on the recommendation of the Apple people. The processor in the MacBook Pro is faster than the one in the iMac. Plus the MacBook Pro has an HDMI out port and Thunderbolt. However, if you are planning on using it to play your video to a large screen 4K TV, you will see choppy results when there is motion in the scene. Evidently the graphics card in the MacBook Pro is not up to that task.

3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

I disagree. In single-threaded tasks, the 3.5GHz i7 in the 27" clearly beats the 2.6GHz in the 15". It's also faster by 0.1GHz in TurboBoost than the MBP's one. http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/compare/476302?baseline=526202

The iMac has TB too, although it's just TB1.

To say the rMBP is faster - that's utter nonsense. In multithreaded tasks, the iMac has the slight edge.