MacBook Pro vs. iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by D4rkShaDoWz, Dec 11, 2007.

1. D4rkShaDoWz macrumors member

Hi!

I am very new to Mac's and wanted to buy one for the holidays. The only problem is that I have no clue which one I want. I am starting to get very interested in video editing (nothing "big" as I am a teen) and was intrigued by a iMac (24 inch). Since I am used to a laptop, I'd want to get a MacBook Pro (15.4 inch). I will be working with Final Cut Studio. My major problem is the lack of upgrading in laptops. I heard that upgrading a iMac is possible. Here are my questions:

1. Which one would you buy?
    2. How is the performance in a MacBook Pro? (Running intense programs or games)
    3. Which one is best for me?

Thanks for answering!!

**NOTE : I lean towards the laptop side more because I like being portable.

2. sk8ordie macrumors regular

sk8ordie

I would go for the 24" iMac unless you absolutely need portability. The real estate of the bigger monitor will be a huge benefit for video editing.

Maybe get the 24" iMac and then later on buy a used/refurbished MacBook? Thats worth considering...

3. Squonk macrumors 65816

Squonk

The iMac is actually less upgradable than the MBP. The only thing you can upgrade inside of the iMac is RAM. I have heard that it is very highly discouraged from upgrading the hard drive in the iMac.

The MBP on the other hand, you can upgrade the RAM and hard drive. There is much debate over whether upgrading the HD on the MBP will void the warranty or not, but it is not too difficult to do so. That being said, Apple does not consider this a "user-replaceable" item.

Externally, both can be upgraded the same...

It is really a question of your portability needs and wants. A 24" screen would be sweet if you have the room (and need) for it.

4. Nakamura macrumors newbie