macbook pro vs retina pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maclover12, Jul 1, 2012.

1. maclover12 macrumors newbie

I am a high school student and was wondering if a the retina is more than I need. So should I just get the macbook pro without retina?

2. leenak macrumors 68020

What do you plan to do with it? For most high school students, a macbook pro would be more than they need.

3. simsaladimbamba

As of now, only YOU know what you need.
    If you want proper support in helping you finding a decision on what model to buy, you have to tell us your computational needs.

If not, go with what you can afford.

4. brand macrumors 601

brand

For high school the MBA is more than enough to meet your needs.

5. Slivortal macrumors 6502

Pretty much this. Even for college students, unless you can think of a reason you need more processing power, you probably don't need it.

6. maclover12 thread starter macrumors newbie

sorry didnt think about that I plan to word/pages safari and probably run windows on it to and little bits of gaming

7. P0stalTek, Jul 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012

P0stalTek macrumors 6502

P0stalTek

Flash games or Diablo 3? It makes a difference. The Air can handle most things to be honest, very well even, but I found real gaming to be a bit of a warm proposition (with settings on pretty low).

They are both great machines, but I bought my Pro specifically because I started doing some real gaming again and needed the extra power.

EDIT: That being said, the MBA comes with an SSD, as does the rMBP, and once you go SSD, you will want nothing else.

8. maclover12 thread starter macrumors newbie

9. Macbro17 macrumors newbie