Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

abhinav777

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2011
I have a 13" MacBook Pro that used to be fully functional running Snow Leopard. The HDD crashed and was replaced. Now the system will not boot to disc. The system does recognize that there is the Mac OS X Install disc in the drive and I was also able to boot from a friends Mac via firewire.

I am wondering if there is a way to flash the firmware or something of that sort in order to make it work. But any relevant solution is more than welcome.

I am new to Macs but am a computer technician for Windows based systems, so if there is a solution out there thatrequires some skill, I am up for it.

Thanks in advance!

UPDATE: When attempting to boot from disc, it changes from the flashing folder to the Apple logo, the spinning circle comes up, it sits there for an extended period of time and then tells me I need to force reboot the system.

UPDATE2: I have reset the PRAM and NVRAM. Also, I think I may have reset the SMC by accident but I do not remember, I was trying a lot of different key strokes and I remember reading about the SMC.

Last edited:

JediMeister

macrumors 68040
Oct 9, 2008
Does your 10.6 DVD have a gray label, or the picture of a snow leopard? More to the point, is this the disc your Mac came with?

abhinav777

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2011
The disc I used is actually the original disc that came with the friend's Mac. I am a college student and didn't think to bring the disc to my dorm...

But it has the snow leopard and was supplied with the Mac.

JediMeister

macrumors 68040
Oct 9, 2008