MacBook Pro will not boot with both RAM sodimms installed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gators, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. gators macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #1
    Macbook Pro 2 ghz shipped with 1 gb Ram. Will not boot when I add another 2 gb ram for a total of 3 gb per Apple tech website info.

    The laptop does boot with EITHER 1 gb ram or 2 gb ram installed but not both. I have tried exchanging the module between the top and bottom slots and again will only boot with one ram module card installed.

    Does anyone have work arounds? Thank you !
     
  2. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #2
    the 2 ghz model you refer to is a core duo and not a core 2 duo model. it can only support up to 2 gb of ram, not 3 gb.
     
  3. gators thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #3
    Much to my surprise, you are correct. Thanks !!
     
  4. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #4
    I thought even if you stuck more than 2GB in, it would still work but only address up to 2GB leaving the rest useless.

    Or does it just cause the laptop to not boot?
     
  5. gators thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #5
    Will not boot at all with 3 gb ram installed on the Pro. I just removed the 1 gb module and installed into a macbook boosting it 1.5 gb.
     
  6. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #6
    CanadaRAM can give you a better answer than i can, but i don't think the core duo models will boot with more than 2 gb installed. can't give a reason, though. :eek:
     

Share This Page