MacBook Pro Will Not Install Windows 7

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lightey, May 14, 2013.

  1. Lightey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #1
    I'm looking for some help. I recently upgraded the hard drive on my 13" Mid-2010 MacBook Pro (2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, OSX 10.7.3) so that I would be able to run a Windows partition for programs and games not available on Mac. Unfortunately, my Windows 7 install disc would not install Windows. It would go smoothly until I got to the last step "Completing Installation", where the dots would blink for awhile, and then the computer would freeze and it would tell me I'd have to run the installation over again, which yielded the same result. I then tried downloading an iso off the internet and burning that to a disc, hoping that maybe it was just the disc, but this still did not work. Is it because the version of Windows 7 I am trying to install is 64 bit? There was an option in the iso to install an x86 version, but I'm not sure if that's the problem. I have looked this up and found many people had this problem with the same model MacBook, but I never was able to find a working solution to the problem. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. LeeM macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
  3. Lightey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #3
    Yes, it is.
     
  4. Braniff747SP macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #4

    Then download an ISO from the internet and put it onto a USB drive. Have Bootcamp make that drive into a bootable drive... Then you can put your product key from your disk into the installation.

    No reason why the above shouldn't work.
     
  5. Lightey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #5
    Yes, I tried doing that and it did the same thing again.
     
  6. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #6
    Have you run Software Update to make sure you have the latest firmware?
     
  7. Lyshen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    On your previous hard drive, did you have Windows installed?

    And also have you tried 32bit Windows just to test?

    Per Apple's support, your model, MBP 13" 2010 Mid, should be able to run Windows 7 32/64 bit, Vista 32/64 bit and Win XP 32 bit.
     
  8. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #8
    You tried both burning the ISO image to disc and putting it on a USB drive? Your OP only mentions the former.
     
  9. Braniff747SP macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #9
    Exactly--I'm saying make a bootable USB and boot from it. You should have no problem.

    Apart from that, make sure Bootcamp is updated to the latest version.
     
  10. Lightey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #10
    I tried to burn the ISO to a usb, but Disk Utility will not let you do that and the terminal commands I found to do it don't work either (though I am no expert at terminal).
     
  11. Braniff747SP macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #11

    Don't need burn anything. You have to go trough Bootcamp;it gives an option to create a bootable USB. As long as you have the ISO you're in good shape.
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    I don't believe the 2010 MBP will boot from a USB Windows installer, so it's unlikely that the Boot Camp Assistant will offer that option.
     
  13. Braniff747SP macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #13
    Why? My 2012 MBP does... is there a hardware difference that I'm not aware of?
     
  14. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #14
    Windows install with a USB stick? Unless you're on an Air, Retina or other mac without an optical drive, it requires some tweaking for it to work.
     
  15. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #15
    It does work seamlessly on the non-retina 2012 MBPs, but since I suspect those share most internals with the retina models, it's not surprising.
     
  16. Lightey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #16
    The BootCamp icon is grayed out for Macs with a Super Drive
     
  17. Braniff747SP macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #17
    Not on my end. My 2012 13" cMBP did it without a problem. No tweaking needed. Make sure that you've got the latest Bootcamp release.

    If it doesn't work, I found this (http://forums.atomicmpc.com.au/index.php?showtopic=51873) which makes enabling it look rather simple.
     
  18. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #18
    No, it works on the 2012 non-retina Macbook Pro which has a Superdrive.

    ----------

    Correct.
     

Share This Page