MacBook Pro with 2.8ghz or 2.53ghz with external harddrive for ProTools use

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RB1010, Dec 2, 2008.

1. RB1010 macrumors newbie

Hi there everyone!

This is my first thread so be gentle....

I am a music student and mainly use protools and logic. I often get well over 25+ tracks with plenty of plugins, so the work ill be doing on it is pretty intensive.

So im going to be purchasing the new Mbp within the next few days and i was wondering if i could grab some advice off you.

Automatically im going to get the upgraded hard drive but with my current budget i can either afford the 2.8ghz or a 2.53ghz with an external hard drive (ive heard that its best to record straight onto external hard drive?)

It is possible for me to get the external hard drive within the next couple of weeks after i get paid if the 2.8ghz is what i need but i dont want to have to get it if i dont need it.

Could someone also direct me as to what hard drives i am looking for? Im thinking a 1tb of some sort? Should i get one that connects via fw800? Im new to using external hard drives for recording so assume im a noob and any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks for any help that anyone could give me, Im a fresh pc -> mac convert and am ready to invest in my first baby.

Cheers

Richie

(p.s. Sorry for the essay)

2. andy5000 macrumors regular

Its recommended to get a fw800 drive for recording, there is an article on the digidesign site somewhere.

3. naid macrumors regular

I would go with a standard 2.53 config (not BTO) plus an external FW800 drive. This way, if your laptop is defective, you can just bring it to the Apple store and exchange it for a new one, rather than being without a machine for a few weeks.

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

Here's the part where I don't understand why Apple won't stock the maxed out config anymore like they did with the older generation models.

5. RB1010 thread starter macrumors newbie