MacBook Pro with 4GB to 8GB RAM Upgrade Questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gerfuls, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. gerfuls macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #1
    I have a new MacBook Pro 13" with the 4GB configuration. I want to upgrade to 8GB but I am not sure if the laptop came with 2 x 2GB installed or just one 4GB stick of RAM. Has anyone done this so I don't have to open up my computer anymore than necessary?
     
  2. Kyffin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #2
    Should be 2x2Gb sticks- if you want to make sure go to the menu bar on the top then :apple:>"About this Mac"> "More Info..."> Memory (on the left hand sidebar) should tell you exactly what you're playing with
     
  3. gerfuls thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #3
    I didn't even think to use the profiler xD I feeling pretty noobish here. Thanks man
     
  4. Kyffin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #4
    Hey, no probs- only think I first looked at it when looking up the same memory upgrade you're thinking of, btw its like a new machine after 8Gb!
     
  5. AttilaTheHun macrumors 6502a

    AttilaTheHun

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    it;s come with 2X2
     
  6. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    of course. having one large stick is inferior to having two small ones bandwidth wise.
     
  7. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #7
    manufacturers do that because one large stick is more expensive than two smaller ones, not necessarily because they're looking out for you and want to maximize your memory bandwidth.

    single vs dual vs triple channel bandwidth doesn't make a difference in actual use anyway.
     
  8. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #8
    then why does the iMac come in 2x2GB and not in 4x1GB?
     
  9. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #9
    Is there a point to that comment or are you just trying to make someone wrong?
     
  10. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #10
    The answer to your question is in the post you quoted. Hint: It's less expensive.

    Also, they get to tout dual channel memory. It sounds cool.
     
  11. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #11
    genuinely curious...
     
  12. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    because it's cheaper....as your quoted post said
     

Share This Page