Macbook Pro with 512MB Graphics

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aliasneo, Jun 23, 2007.

  1. aliasneo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #1
    apprently i heard a rumor that the apple is upgrading the graphics memory on the top 2 macbook pros the 15 and 17inches, the first upgrade such#ked pretty bad because there was no major impovemnt for people who play games on their pros
     
  2. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #2
    Unlikely, there have been no reports of this on any rumor sites as far as I can read. Also, the MacBook Pro's were only just recently updated so it is even less likely that they will receive a new graphics card, having already just being upgraded from the X1600 to the 8600M GT, which I read is no slouch.

    So I'm not sure exactly what bit of the upgrade sucked, also it is not the first upgrade to the MacBook Pro.

    Are there any mobile graphics cards that support 512MB of VRAM?

    On a side note, how did you apparently hear a rumor, either you did or you didn't, surely?
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    this would be quite an amazing feat! an apple with a decent gpu! wow. nah, but a lot of people are looking for decent gpus and that is why they mightnt choose apple. 512 ram might just be to good for a lot of users to finally invest in a mbp *fingers crossed*
     
  4. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #4
    The chips in the MBP's have had their RAM cut back. I think it'd normally be 256MB or 512MB rather than 128MB or 256MB.

    However, I can't imagine Apple changing this in the short term, so soon after an update. Perhaps several months down the line extra VRAM will be part of a general spec bump, but the M8600GT is already highly capable and a good improvement over the old ATI part.
     
  5. mkgm1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #5
    Yep: nVidia 7950gtx - Dell use them in their XPS laptops.
     
  6. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #6
    Not much, considering it is the price of a Dell.
     
  7. randfee2 macrumors regular

    randfee2

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    there is a whole bunch of Laptops that have 512MB of VRAM, even ones with a slower GPU like the 8600mGS!

    I kinda hate Apple a bit for always hitting the systems somewhere a little bit. It wouldn't have been any major price increase...nothing... just way more future proof..... bastards!!!! :)
     
  8. chex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    #8
    increasing the vram won't speed up the 3d performance

    it will only make a difference in games/apps with extremely detailed textures and the like
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #9
    Isn't that a bit of a contradiction...?

    It will speed games up as more graphic data can be loaded into the VRAM meaning less data is kept on the hard disc. Data that is in VRAM can be accessed and rendered a lot quicker than it can do on the hard drive.

    Most games now-a-days feature highly detailed textures and compression, so more VRAM would benefit these games greatly.
     
  10. Kevo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #10
    By the time most games start needing 512MB of video ram to run acceptably, you will most likely need a new graphics chip as well.
     
  11. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #11
    Very true.

    And I believe the 8600M GT can dynamically allocate RAM to VRAM with proper drivers.
     
  12. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #12
    Proper drivers (ie: if you do not use a Mac)
     
  13. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #13
    Damn you Apple and your outdated graphics driverness! I'm betting we'll be at 10.5.2 at least before we see an update to the 8600M GT drivers. :(

    Here's hoping.
     
  14. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    did you or did you not? lol. :p
     
  15. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #15
    Honestly, I can't really see a major improvement with 512MB of ram, sure it would be a nice bump, but it wouldn't offer any substantial increase on anything but the most extreme games which won't run too well on the 8600 anyway.
     
  16. rrijkers macrumors 6502

    rrijkers

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    Omg, who playes games in their mac partition! :cool: :confused:
     
  17. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #17
    Well currently I'm forced to until I can sort out XP's stupid IRQL_LESS_THAN_OR_EQUAL BSODs that I get every time I try to play BF2142. :(
     
  18. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #18
    Well, if you don't use Mac OS anyway :p I think Windows is allocating RAM correctly. I get great speeds in Windows.
     
  19. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #19
    I'm not complaining: the 8600M GT is one of the fastest mobile GPUs as it is. Flight Simulator X runs like a dream (of course, that's more CPU than GPU based, but you get the idea). Yes, the 8600Ms support up to 512MB of VRAM, but with the dynamic RAM allocation (which works in windows: 3DMark06 reports my 8600GT having 512MB of VRAM), it works out.
     
  20. masse macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    MA/GA
    #20
    and then there's those of us who still aren't impressed by the 8600 GT...

    But whatever, 512mb Vram would be a simple update, but a good one.
     
  21. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #21
    I think that the 17'' should have 512MB of VRam. I Mean lets think about it.... its a pro Machine right?

    How well do you think 256MB of VRam could run the MBP HD @ 1900x1200, then, a 30 Inch ACD?

    Probly not so good.
     
  22. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #22

    How many times are people going to use the "it's a pro machine" argument? What other "pro machine" has 512MB of VRAM?

    The only one is the Dell XPS gaming machines with GTX 7950s in them.

    And the 256MB of VRAM can run the MBP WUXGA + 30 Inch ACD fine, assuming you're not playing World of Warcraft or something on one of the displays :p
     
  23. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #23
    Two reasons why not:
    a. Size
    b. Heat
     

Share This Page