Macbook Pro with Apple Cinema Display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MarkW19, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #1
    My 2.2ghz MBP arrives tomorrow, and I'm thinking of getting a 23" ACD to use with it at home.

    Will the MBP support the full resolution of the ACD? And if so, how will things like DVDs, intensive 3D games, and full-screen movie editing perform? Will there be any slow-down or anything by using the ACD, when compared with the MBPs built in screen?
     
  2. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    I have a 22.1in external monitor hooked up to my MBP and it runs great. I use both screens at once so I can drag windows back and forth. Resolution is great, running it at 1680 x 1050. No slow-downs or anything of that nature.

    You shouldn't have any problems with the 23in ACD.
     
  3. Alfadoc macrumors member

    Alfadoc

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    #3
    My 23" Cinema Display works well with my 2.0 Core Duo MBP (256MB X1600) playing GTR2 and GT Legends in full 1920x1200. It's a great combination.
     
  4. MarkW19 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #4
    Excellent, good to hear! My graphics card will only have 128mb, buy it's the newer Nvidia card, so it should perform well shouldn't it?

    I'll also need to plug a base Macbook in sometimes, how will that perform for just general stuff and DVDs on the ACD (no games or editing)?
     
  5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #5
    I have a 128mb nvida in a 1.67ghz rev D PB and it drives a 30" with no problems.
     
  6. jlanuez macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    30" Acd


    We use th MBP (17" C2D , 2.33GHz, 3GB RAM) with a 30" Apple Cinima Display at it works 100%. On the desk in the stucio (where we are not storing & editing photographs), we basically use this as a desktop replacement, that we can just unplug and take into the field.
     

Share This Page