Macbook Pro with Dell U2715H

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pzinovieff, May 31, 2015.

  1. pzinovieff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    #1
    I am having an underscan issue with my Dell u2716H monitor, this is running my Late 2011 13" macbook pro on Yosemite 10.10.4. There is around half an inch of back around the image and the edge of the LCD display. the display is currently set on 2560 x 1440, 60hz through display port.
    Any help would be great thanks!
     
  2. pzinovieff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
  3. Lior.Amsalem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #3
    Hi,
    My problem is probably the same so here is the post I've written on dell's forum:
    Hi,

    I've purchased a new U2715H yesterday.

    I use it with 3 Macs:

    Mac Mini - Mid 2010 (GPU: Nvidia GeForce 320M) - works great

    Macbook Pro Retina 13" Early 2015 (GPU: Intel Iris 6100) - works great

    Macbook Air 11" Mid 2011 (GPU: Intel HD Graphics 3000) - works not so great



    So, to the problem:

    All the three computers connected with the same mini displayport to displayport cable provided, and supply the same resolution to the screen (2560x1440@60, the screen optimal) which is also what reported by the screen (the bottom line on the menu).

    BUT, for some reason the Macbook Air is "boxed", there are black bars and the image area does notfill the whole screen. the bars are approximately 0.75" in all directions. Apple spec says that this resolution is supported on all three.

    What can be the problem? why only the Macbook Air has black bars?

    I'll appreciate any help here,

    Regards,

    Lior
     
  4. Lior.Amsalem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #4
    Also, maybe it's better to move this thread to the Mac Peripherals section?
     
  5. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #5
    Could either of you post a photo of the problem with the monitor's OSD showing as well as System Information's "Graphics/Displays" section open in OS X?
     
  6. Lior.Amsalem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #6
    Will do so later on today when I'll get home...
     
  7. Lior.Amsalem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #7
    ok, here are the photos...

    Any clue?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    - Weird. What does System Information say, and which options do you have in System Preferences?

    Try creating a new user and see if it does the same.

    Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 17.59.19 1.png
     
  9. Lior.Amsalem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #9
    OK, I see the same as you on the information screen.
    However, first lead it's a SW problem, loading the recovery (cmd-r) and the screen align perfect in the recovery screen...
    I'll try to restore the laptop...
     
  10. Lior.Amsalem, Jun 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    Lior.Amsalem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #10
    case closed, clean install did the trick.
    It was a good thing to do it anyway, now my wife will get a clean laptop ;)

    JTToft, thanks for your time!
     
  11. pzinovieff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    #11
    i sorted it out by starting my laptop in safe mode and then restarting.
     

Share This Page