MacBook pro with HD DVD or Blu-ray??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by InSaNeCyAnUr, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. InSaNeCyAnUr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #1
    Do you think we will see a future update with a High Definition DVD drive?? Because with the new HD 17", I though they would have put an HD drive so we could watch our movies in HD.
     
  2. InSaNeCyAnUr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
  3. Dreamail macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Beyond
    #3
    Just an educated guess:

    Apple used to update PowerBooks in May/June and/or October/November time frames.

    Apple hasn't even bothered to update the case design in this update to bring it in line with MacBook features (magnetic latch, user replaceable HD) or even make the lid on the 15" MBP thinner (which they could have as LED backlighting is thinner).

    Intel just announced a much better Core 2 Duo Extreme processor and chipset (supporting HDMI e.g.) for the Q3 time frame.

    Leopard will offer new features which new hardware can make use of - from October on when Leopard arrives.


    I'd say this was pretty much a stop gap update and we will see a complete case redesign with new features around October/November.
    That's when we will see higher res screens on the 15" MBP and HD DVD drives.
     
  4. InSaNeCyAnUr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    I knew most of your stuff (I'm not trying to be a ******* BTW, I just love Apple:D )

    But I too think they should update everything because this seems just like throwing everything they could and the next update will get the real thing.

    Hope they'll put the Penryn chip in the next update, because this is the real thing!! And they should put a 512mb video card for the HD 17" because it takes an incredible amount of memory to run that monster.
     
  5. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #5
    Really, I think all this "more video RAM" is nonsense. My PowerBook with 64MB of VRAM easily runs my 23" ACD. Furthermore, I was able to run a CRT at 1600x1200 resolution on an old Pismo that had a whopping 8MB of VRAM. It's about the programability of the chip on the video card far more than the amount of memory that determines the power a card has.
     
  6. InSaNeCyAnUr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #6
    Well for playing FPS games and loading high res pictures (I mean real high) the VRAM does in fact affect the loading time and the frame per second ingame.
     

Share This Page