Macbook Pro won't connect to the internet. Help, please?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by hortaux, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. hortaux macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #1
    I'm using a Macbook Pro with OSX 10.5.8, and all of a sudden it refuses to connect to the internet upon start up. Open Firefox--- and nothing. The Airport says it's connected, and I know the internet is working (my dad's able to get on, as is my friend). The Airport says it's connected to the correct network, too, and hasn't "forgotten" the WEP key--- so it should be working, except it isn't. It's done this a few times, but after refreshing the internet for about a half hour, it would fix itself, so I let it continue longer than I should have.

    I've tried shutting the computer down and restarting, shutting the modem down and restarting (while simultaneously restarting the Mac). Nothing. And I even tried plugging the computer in to the router with an ethernet cable, and it STILL says it can't connect. I have tried repairing disk permissions, as well but this also did nothing.

    I am very frustrated and would really appreciate some help ASAP. Thank you.
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    System Preferences > Network > Assist Me > Diagnostics
    Screen shot 2011-01-03 at 22.21.06.png
    Screen shot 2011-01-03 at 22.21.14.png

    Are all the traffic lights green?
     
  3. hortaux thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #3
    Thank you so much for helping!

    No, the AirPort Airport Settings are green

    Network settings is yellow

    and ISP, Internet, and Server are red

    and I got a message about Do you use PPPoE or DHCP

    and I... have no idea what that means, or which one my ISP might use. I have Verizon Fios, if that helps?
     
  4. hortaux thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #4
    In addition, I have now run the diagnostics option to no avail

    and the assisstant option says that I have "no IP address"

    :/
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Open up Network within System Preferences again and navigate to to the left hand blade. Highlight the option that you use to connect to the interent (Airport if you connect wirelessly) Do you have a 169.xxx.x.xx I.P address or a different one?

    DHCP - Does your ISP provided you with a fixed I.P number? (If you do not know then probably not) I would imagine this is what is used for you to connect.

    PPPoe
     
  6. hortaux thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #6
    It says "self-assigned IP" under Airport in the lefthand blade. Does this help?
     
  7. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    This means that you are not receiving an I.P address from your ISP. The next question is why?

    Do you have any other means of connecting to your router? Another laptop? iPhone? Do you have an ethernet cable?
     
  8. hortaux thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #8
    Yes, I'm on another laptop right now. And I have an ethernet cable, but when I tried to plug that in and connect it to the Mac, that didn't work either.
     
  9. ZebOfMac macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #9

    You may want to try removing all the trusted networks and re find them as needed. I had to do this to my MBP last week. Everything else I tried failed.
     
  10. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    This suggests that its something amis with your MBP's hardware. This is very hard to diagnose over the internet, so the best way is to create a new user account on your Mac to see if this temporarily fixes the issues with your internet connection. If it does not then the next step is to carryout an Archive and Install. If it does fix the issues then hopefully it might be simple to fix.


    Do you have the disks that came with your MBP?

     
  11. hortaux thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #11
    I tried making another account, to no avail. Still can't connect.

    And no, I do not have the discs (we got evicted, they went into storage, we didn't pay our storage fee--- long story no one cares about--- basically i don't have them. Sorry :( )
     
  12. hortaux thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #12
    I'm sorry--- I know this is really, really dumb--- but how would I do this?
     
  13. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
  14. hortaux thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #14
    For Mac OS X 10.4 "Tiger"

    1. From the Apple menu, choose Location > Network Preferences.
    i did this
    2. From the Show pop-up menu, choose AirPort.
    i did this
    3. Locate the pop-up menu next to "By default, join:". If this pop-up menu is set to "A specific network," this means that you upgraded to Tiger from Panther, and you should stop here and follow the Panther steps, above, instead. Otherwise, continue to step 4.
    I couldn't find this "by default, join:" ???????

    now I've done something wrong and I know it. airport has no location, and still no IP address and no anythign I am so frustrated and I'm sorry I'm so useless but I don't know what to do

    this is what's showing up:
    http://i55.tinypic.com/2gwwfmb.png
     
  15. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I think it refers to this screen...

    Screen shot 2011-01-04 at 18.00.37.png

    Accessible by going:-

    System Preferences > Network > Clicking Airport on the left > Advanced
    Next highlight each network and select the minus icon.
     

Share This Page