MacBook Pro Won't Start Up Please Help!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by phrontistery, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. phrontistery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #1
    Sorry, I wasn't sure where to post so I just went here.

    I accidentally deleted my /etc/ file and couldn't get it back. Well now my computer won't start up. Is there anyway I can fix this?

    :(:(:(
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Reinstalling OS X is probably the easiest and only way. None of your files should be deleted and it takes roughly half an hour.
     
  3. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #3
    ok, this maybe dumb, but how do I go about that?

    I don't have an OS X disc or anything like that
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    You should have the two grey discs that came with your Mac - they can be used to reinstall the OS. If you're running Lion, then you could use the recover partition to reinstall OS X.
     
  5. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #5
    could you explain using the recover partition, because I was running lion.

    ----------

    I found my install discs actually! :)

    how do i go about installing this without losing my data though?
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Hold down the alt key when booting and select recovery partition with the arrow keys. You should be prompted with a window with an option to reinstall the OS X.

    Pretty much the same as above. Insert the disc and hold alt while booting. Select the DVD and follow the instructions. As long as you don't erase the HD, your files should be there, only system files will be affected.
     
  7. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #7
    thank you sooo much!!

    im going to try this now!
     
  8. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #8
    ok another problem. when i tried to use the installation discs it told me I could not install to my harddrive without erasing it and losing all of my data? is there any way around that?

    :confused:
     
  9. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #9
    DONT USE THE RECOVERY DISCS IF YOU WERE RUNNING LION!

    The recovery discs probably have Snow Leopard on them, use the Lion Recovery Partition instead (Hold Command+R during boot).
     
  10. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #10
    ok that is what I'm trying. I held down alt during boot and then clicked Recovery HD, is that right?

    ----------

    and yes, the recovery discs do have snow leopard on them.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Yes. Does it still ask you to erase the HD? Snow Leopard definitely will but Lion shouldn't, unless there is a problem.
     
  12. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #12
    I clicked the Recovery HD like you said to do and it is still sitting at the Apple Logo with a spinning circle. It has been sitting there a while. I have to go to work though, hopefully it will be up when I get back, thank you guys for your help, I will probably be reposting again tonight on this thread
     
  13. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #13
    Ok here is where I got to.

    -I booted and held Alt and clicked Recovery HD
    -Then I clicked to Reinstall Lion OS (those might've not been the exact words but something to that extent)
    -Then it said it couldn't be done because there was no internet connection
    -I clicked my airport and typed in my WEP password then I got this:

    "airportd wants to use the "login" keychain"

    I have no idea what ^^ that is or how to fix that. any ideas?
     
  14. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #14
    it wants some saved passwords. Let it.
     
  15. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #15
    no it is asking for a password
    idk what password it wants?

    ----------

    It says "Please enter the keychain password"
     
  16. Elbert C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    AK, USA
    #16
    Try using your account login password. If it doesn't work, try your admin password.
     
  17. phrontistery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #17
    I've tried them all...

    :confused::confused::confused:
     

Share This Page