Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chameleon81, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. chameleon81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #1
    I m a mac newbie. I read the threads about my question but still I want to ask :)
    I have a Core duo mac book pro and it is stated that the max ram is 2 GB. I called apple customer service. and the guy told me that i can put 3 GB ram if I want.
    Is it true? I mean I can put yes but will it work?

    Looking for help thank you
     
  2. Aniej macrumors 68000

    Aniej

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #2
    not 100% sure, but I believe the issue where you would have 3gb ram and it would not function properly was with the core duos because it couldn't handle the lopsided ram. it is possible it was limited to the powerbook and not yours, but i do know there used to be an issue where you needed even paired ram. someone else please fill in the gaps...
     
  3. Mac One macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    NZ
    #3
    The Apple support page says up to 2GB Ram for the Core Duo. http://support.apple.com/specs/macbookpro/MacBook_Pro.html
    The Core 2 Duo supports up to 3GB.
    Maybe the customer service guy got his wires crossed?
    Try calling up again and hopefully another person will be able to confirm the right amount.
     
  4. Mac Virgin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    #4
    Macbook Pro Memory

    The NEW Macbook Pro's can take up to (and use) 4GB of RAM, the older Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro's - 3GB, the olderer (yes that's a word!) :) Core Duo Macbook Pro's take 2GB...

    Cheers..
     
  5. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #5
    All Macs bar the Mac Towers can have 'lopsided' RAM. for example, my MacBook is running with 1.5GB (1GB + 512MB) and my parent's MBP is running with 1.25 (1GB + 256MB).
     
  6. chameleon81 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #6
    thanks guys that was quick. so rather go and upgrade it to 2gb ram.
     
  7. Aniej macrumors 68000

    Aniej

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #7
    hmm interesting. ok maybe i was misinformed, or is it possible that it's not the ability to take the lopsided distribution, but rather the ability for it to be utilized? in that if you have a 1GB stick and a 2GB stick, it was only able to use one and one? I could swear there is some catch with this and the person who told me was apple senior product specialist.
     
  8. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #8
    It was something about it running in dual-channel mode. I think the speed improvement is only something like 5%, and the only time you would use dual channel mode is when you have 1GB (2x512), or 2GB (2x1GB). Even with the dual-channel mode, 1.25GB (1GB + 256MB) is going to be faster than 1GB (512 + 512), and there is no other way to make 2GB other than 1GB + 1GB.

    There have been a lot of myths spread about it, so your misinformation is understandable :)
     
  9. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #9
    I forgot where I read the article, but the gist of it was that the benefits of having 3GB vs 2GB of ram outweighed the performance hit of having lopsided memory. In short, you'll have a better experience with 3GB of lopsided memory than 2GB matching pairs.

    And for what it's worth, in the MBP line:
    Core Duo tops at 2GB.
    Core 2 Duo (Merom) tops at 3GB.
    C2D (Santa Rosa) tops at 4GB.

    The only thing keeping me matched at 2GB is it was exorbitantly more expensive for a 2GB stick than the 2x1GB kit.
     
  10. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
  11. chex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    #11
    that doesn't sound right

    they both have the same chipset, there's no reason why the coreduo can't take 3 gb
     
  12. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #12
    Here's the January 11th Archive.org cache of the MBP (it was released one day prior)
    http://web.archive.org/web/20060114084646/www.apple.com/macbookpro/whatsinside.html

    Under the Processor and Memory section it reads (emphasis mine)...
    I think it wasn't until the C2D that the maximum was 3GB.
     

Share This Page