macbook problem after replacing hd/ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by stakanit, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. stakanit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #1
    I just installed 4gig ram (kingston kta-mb667kt/4g) and a hitachi 250 gig 5400 drive

    When I start up my mac and try to boot from the backup cd pressing the option key i only get a beeping noize..

    please help me out, it's a brand new mac (and my first)
    I have followed all the instructions carefully, had a little trouble pushing in the new ram but i think all went fine...
     
  2. JG271 macrumors 6502a

    JG271

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Does anything appear on screen? Other than that make sure everything is connected, take out the RAM and re-seat it, if that fails then try the old ram again so you can rule out a faulty batch of RAM.
     
  3. stakanit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #3
    no.. black screen and peeping sound

    I'll try to reseat the RAM or install the old, hope i didn't ruin it.
     
  4. stakanit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #4
    it's definitely the ram, hd works with the old ram..

    Can someone confirm that the kingston KTA-MB667K2/4G is the right kit?
    If so i'll have to return it, tried to reseat it a couple of times now.

    pls respond cause i only have limited time to return the product..

    thanks
     
  5. stakanit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
  6. ataboc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Ca
    #6
  7. JG271 macrumors 6502a

    JG271

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Perhaps you damaged it with static electricity, you should make sure you touch something metal connected to the ground before you touch any sensitive parts inside your computer, static can ruin entire motherboards.

    Edit: The ram should be PC2-5300, that ram will be fine.
    Crucial is always a good guide to what ram to install, even if you don't buy from them
    http://www.crucial.com/store/listpa...Hz Intel Core 2 Duo (13-inch White) MB061LL/B
     
  8. stakanit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #8
    i don't think i damaged it, my mac still works with the old RAM... just think the RAM is bad or could it be anything else?
     
  9. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #9
    Is it a Core Duo or Core 2 Duo Macbook? Do you have a link the Ram you bought? A little more information would be helpful. You have to push the Ram in very firmly to get it to seat.
     
  10. stakanit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #10
  11. JG271 macrumors 6502a

    JG271

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Sorry i meant damage the RAM not the motherboard. Didn't make that very clear!
     
  12. broski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #12
    i got 4 gigs of ram for my macbook about a month, and once i installed it, i was getting kernel errors left and right. i returned the ram and got it replaced for free from newegg and now i have no issues.
     

Share This Page