Macbook Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RollTide, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. RollTide macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    So my fiancee's macbook had harddrive failure, so I bought her a new 160 GB Hitachi HD. I popped it in, had the leopard install cd's (the 2 grey ones) and the computer boots up, goes to language select screen, I clik English, it goes to install and then says Leopard cannot be installed on this volume. OK

    I go into disk utility and it picks up the Hitachi just fine, I click erase and it erases. I verify disk etc. still nothing. I need help!!!!!!! And the disc won't eject. (I held down the mouse button and all.)

    Plz help guys

    Thanks!
     
  2. RollTide thread starter macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #2
    I even tried partitioning it.

    Anyone got any info on this? I can't understand why it cannot be written to the HD.
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    at this point i'd take it to the local apple store.
     
  4. RollTide thread starter macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    I was hoping it wouldn't come to that. $$$ being tight and all.
     
  5. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #5
    If you make an appointment at the Genius Bar in an Apple Store in virtually all cases they will help you with software problems such as you describe at no charge including OS re-installs. The only time you really get into chargeable stuff there is if hardware needs to be replaced and you are out of warranty/AppleCare.
     
  6. RollTide thread starter macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    I did not know that, it is out of warranty but should need no new hardware. Thanks!
     
  7. KoolStar macrumors demi-god

    KoolStar

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    If you bought the new hd at a store it will be formated wrong. The partition scheme will not be in GUID mode. That is why leopard will not install on the disk properly. You have to make sure that the partition scheme is GUID. Here is the Apple link to the knowledge base. (LINK)
     
  8. RollTide thread starter macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #8
    I have it as GUID verified or whatever. Will look again tho

    thnx!
     

Share This Page