Macbook Production, Build Cycles?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by 8theapple, Oct 23, 2008.

1. 8theapple macrumors regular

Sorry in advance. I am new to Mac, and looking to make the switch to the new Macbook soon. I've been a Windows user all my life and looking to change it up.

I was just wondering if anyone knows what Apple's manufacturing process is with respect to timelines and progression.

For example, if there is a flaw in an automobile, as production occurs over time the flaw is addressed. Usually cars produced later on in the year have some of these problems fixed. This happens alot with first generation products.

With all the issues now being discovered with the new macbook, how long do you think it will take Apple to address these and integrate "fixes" into their manufacturing process?

Which build week would be a good time to purchase (and how do you find the build week again)? I know that might not be a fair question to ask since computers are bought on a necessity basis for school, work etc. I'm trying to find the balance between when I should buy the notebook and necessity (aka I want a relatively perfect product).

I am looking to purchase in the next coming months in preparation for next semester as my current laptop is slow I can't even watch Youtube and work on projects. I might even wait until after MacWorld 2009.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance.

2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

I don't know what the problems are which you refer to because my MacBook is perfect. As for fixing things, Apple does do that during product cycles.

3. mathieuheartmac macrumors member

I think the poster is talking about the problems that a lot of people on this forum have experienced. There are many threads about the issues the new macbook has right now.

You got lucky and got a perfect one.:)

4. mathieuheartmac macrumors member

But, try this:
    http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/#MacBook