Macbook Pro's case severely dented.. need help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by luciole, Feb 24, 2008.

1. luciole macrumors newbie

Hi,
    Just a few moments ago I noticed this on the right side of my Macbook Pro. I honestly have no idea how it happened, I have never dropped or knocked my computer around. But go figure, this thing turned up suddenly.

Thankfully, everything still works fine. As for the ports, the DVI, Ethernet and USB works, and I have never used the two firewire ports.

Do you think I can get this repaired.. and if so, will it be very expensive and take a long time? I'm an art student and depend on my computer for survival.
    I bought this at Aug 07 and I think it is still under limited warranty.. but something tells me that that will not cover this mishap.

On to the horrorshow:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    This is what it looks like when closed.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Help is very appreciated!

2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

Sorry, but that was dropped. It won't be covered under warranty. It might be pretty expensive to get fixed. You say it's been working fine?

3. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

Yeh, you can get it repaired (although the logic board MAY be damaged, but if it's still working fine then that's very unlikely).

I seem to remember the bottom case costs about £60. You'll also need to get the ports replaced (I can't remember how much these are). The labour will be the expensive part...

4. luciole thread starter macrumors newbie

Hmm. I could swear I never dropped this thing. But perhaps it was dented here and there without my knowledge, or something. Oh well.
    It works fine and great. I am typing this now on the same computer, and playing music, and (of course) backing up my files. It is as if nothing happened, thats why I did not realize till just now.